New  Hope
 Sunday Services: 10:30 AM A Unitarian Universalist Congregation A Welcoming Congregation 

New Hope is a Lay-led Congregation led by a Board of Trustees, elected by the members. Every person at New Hope takes a leadership role in some special way.


Kathleen Zaenger - President of the Board

Kathleen lives in Brighton with her husband Dennis Strasser. They have been Unitarian Universalists for over 20 years and have been members of New Hope since 2007. Kathleen especially enjoys the congregation’s friendly and welcoming bond of community. She is retired from the Howell Carnegie District Library where she was director for 38 years.


Patricia MacArthur - Vice President

Patricia lives in Brighton and has been a long time Unitarian Universalist, participating in services in both Michigan and Florida. She has been a member of New Hope since 2007 and has served in various ways including as a past President. Patricia is a retired educator.


Sue Myers - Secretary

Sue is a retired teacher who worked in the Dearborn Heights/Westwood School District for 34 years. For most of that time she worked with Special Education students. She enjoyed her career very much. She has been a member of the New Hope Congregation since 2007. She has been the Board Secretary for the last 6 years and enjoys that job also. Plus she now collects the CLEAN bottles and cans so that New Hope can benefit from the refunds!


Mike Kelleher - Treasurer

Mike and his wife, Corinne, originally from Massachusetts, discovered Unitarian Universalism in 1984 and joined the First Parish Church of Plymouth, MA. He and his family moved to Harbor Springs, MI in 1994 and then to Wixom, MI in 2004, where they presently live. Mike is now retired, after having a 40 year career in the Material Handling Industry holding positions as an electrical project engineer and application engineer. He has been a member of New Hope since 2010 and has been Treasurer since 2013. He has three adult children and two grandchildren.


Diann Harroun – Member at Large

Diann Harroun has been attending New Hope since 2019. She became a member in 2023 and enjoys the sense of community and caring that New Hope offers. She is a retired high school counselor who finds New Hope a way to continue helping others.


Denise Harris – Chair of the Worship Committee

Denise lives in Milford and has been a Unitarian Universalist for over 25 years. She was drawn by the friendly and welcoming community of New Hope and has been a member since 2014. She is retired from General Motors where she worked in international and aftersales marketing.


Brian Tyler – Maintenance Manager

Brian has been a member and a friend at New Hope for many years. His expertise and attention keep our building and grounds in excellent condition. We are very grateful for the time and energy that he devotes to his important task.